Why I’m Not Suited To Write Non-Fiction

Laura Ellen Scott on why non-fiction doesn’t work for her.

Laura Ellen Scott

I have the bones for a brief, imaginative essay about ghosts, last words, and social paranoia, partially inspired by a shocking and mysterious post made by an acquaintance weeks ago. I admit I am the biggest sucker for vague-booking–not that I do it–but I am the social media eavesdropper  for whom the form was invented. For a long while the poster’s statement–just three words–has been resting verbatim within the essay. I thought about substituting alternatives to the words, but this particular list and combination burns like an after image even when I replace them.So they are still there at the bottom of the sixth paragraph.

I had just about decided, out of decency, to turn the whole thing into fiction when the person I’d hoped to shield posted yet another incredibly manipulative statement. Not a cry for help , but an announcement of a sacrifice that cannot be stopped. That

View original post 82 more words

Leave a Reply

