Pen, Ink, and Crimes

BY SANDRA GARDNER

I’d been a mystery reader for years. So I had a pretty good idea of what the genre was.
But I’d never read a paranormal novel.

My first published mystery novel, Mother, Murder and Me, turned out to be a paranormal mystery. How did this happen?

One day when I was lying on my sofa, exhausted from a case of bronchitis, I felt – saw – sensed – something hovering over me. I realized it was a mother. A ghost of a mother, actually.

The character was so compelling that she insisted on being written about. From that beginning, this character’s adult daughter became the main character, and her recently deceased mother – my ghost mother – came back to help her daughter out of trouble. Being a mystery novel, the trouble involved several murders, beginning with my M.C. discovering the corpse of her longtime therapist…

View original post 440 more words

Leave a Reply

